ManjushriDunhuang.JPG

News

Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti

Published on 22 July 2020

Khyentse Foundation and Siddhartha's Intent invite you to join our global sangha on 25 July to celebrate the 200th birthday of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo, cofounder of Rimé movement and one of the most renowned buddhist masters of the 19th century.

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche has agreed to give a 30 to 45 minute teaching on Manjushri at the start of the event, followed by a global online recitation of Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti (Chanting the Names of Mañjushri). The teaching will have consecutive Chinese translation and Portuguese translation via Mixlr. At Rinpoche’s request, we will follow a classical chant in the Newari tradition, which has been specifically recorded for this event. We will hold the event on Zoom and live-stream it through YouTube. We expect the whole event to last about 2 hours.

Rinpoche’s teaching will start at 4:30 PM IST on 25 July. Global starting times are (all 25 July) :

USA West - 4:00am
USA East - 7:00am
Halifax, Sâo Paulo - 8:00am
London - 12:00pm
Berlin, Paris - 1:00pm
New Delhi - 4:30pm
Thimphu - 5:00pm
Bangkok - 6:00pm
Beijing, Singapore - 7:00pm
Sydney - 9:00pm
Auckland - 11:00pm

The links to join the event are:

Zoom Meeting (1,000 capacity)
Zoom Link
Meeting ID: 870 4517 8612
Password: 256751

YouTube: https://youtu.be/3ozwHOeaIzI

 

Audio with Chinese Translation: https://mixlr.com/siddharthas-intent

Portuguese Translation: http://mixlr.com/si-translations/

 

About Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti

The Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti (Chanting the Names of Mañjushri) is a tantra of the nondual (advaya) class, along with tantras such as the Kalachakra Tantra. Buddha taught the Nama-Samgiti to his disciple Vajrapani and his wrathful retinue in order to lead them to enlightenment. Although it is a short text of only 167 verses, it summarizes all the Buddha's teachings. As the Buddha said,

"It is the chief clarification of words. It is the nondual reality. Therefore, all sentient beings should definitely study and recite the Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti."

Even though Nama-Samgiti is a tantric text, Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo explained that it may also be recited by "beginners who do not practice the profound yoga ... who wish to recite the tantra as a praise to Mañjushri’s formidable qualities."

When he was teaching the Madhyamakavatara in France in 1996, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche read this text as an auspicious offering and praise. He said. “This is praised as being the root of all the tantras. It is like a Buddhist Bhagavad Gita. As I read, you should pray to be born as Mañjushri’s assistant, as his disciple, when he attains enlightenment. He is supposedly the last buddha that will be enlightened during this kalpa. It is also said that he was the first buddha of this kalpa.”

Mañjushri-Nama-Samgiti explanation © 2020 Alex Li Trisoglio and Madhyamaka website.

 

Download the text for the recitation in Sanskrit, English, Chinese, or Tibetan. 

[Image: Manjushri painting from Mogao Grottoes, Dunhuang, China]